Support Us Button Widget

Madison Metro Transit rider resources

The latest on Metro Transit, and how to best navigate and prepare for upcoming changes.

Madison Metro Transit bus at night in a snow flurry

Get in the know before you go. | Photo via City of Madison

The winter weather is stymieing Madison Metro Transit buses. Delays are occurring due to vehicle shortages as maintenance crews do weather-related repairs.

In addition to general weather woes, commuters should also keep in mind the Metro’s upcoming East-West Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project. Expected to be completed by the end of the year, the system will run 15 miles from Junction Road to Sun Prairie, with campus, Capitol Square, and East Towne Mall stops.

We’ve rounded up a few resources available via the City and the Madison Public Library to help you better navigate the bus system.

General ridership info

Madison Public Library resources:

Transportation options | Metro staff will discuss transportation options like buses, BCycles, and paratransit.

  • Saturday, Jan. 20 | 2-4 p.m. | Alicia Ashman
  • Thursday, Feb. 8 | 10 a.m.-1 p.m. | Central
  • Tuesday, Feb. 13 | 3-5 p.m. | Pinney
  • Thursday, March 14 | 3-5 p.m. | Alicia Ashman
  • Saturday, March 16 | 10 a.m.-12 p.m. | Pinney
  • Tuesday, April 23 | 10 a.m.-12 p.m. | Lakeview

Navigating the Bus System | Learn how to navigate Metro Transit’s system through digital tools, paper schedules, and phone services.

  • Thursday, Jan. 18 | 3-5 p.m. | Alicia Ashman
  • Saturday, Feb. 3 | 10 a.m.-12 p.m. | Sequoya
  • Saturday, Feb. 17 | 10 a.m.-12 p.m. | Pinney
  • Monday, Feb. 19 | 1-3 p.m. | Central
  • Friday, Feb. 23 | 11 a.m.-2 p.m. | Sequoya
  • Saturday, March 2 | 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. | Central
  • Saturday, March 2 | 2-4 p.m. | Alicia Ashman
  • Monday, March 4 | 3-5 p.m. | Pinney
  • Thursday,, April 9 | 1-5 p.m. | Lakeview
  • Thursday, April 18 | 1-5 p.m. | Lakeview

BRT info

City resources:

Madison Public Library resources:
Go By Metro | Metro employees will answer your BRT questions.

  • Monday, March 25 | 10 a.m.-12 p.m. | Sequoya
  • Monday, April 1 | 3-5 p.m. | Pinney